FIFA Women’s World Cup


Chrisitine Sinclair (12) is Team Canada’s captain.
Photo by Stuart Davis/The Vancouver Sun

FIFA Women’s World Cup
Adapted from The Vancouver Sun by Nila Gopaul
Level 2

Listen to “FIFA Women’s World Cup”– Level 2
Reading by Corey Muench

Canada will host
the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup.
It wil be the seventh Women’s World Cup.

The event is from June 6 to July 5, 2015.
Over one million people will watch.

Canadian cities
The games will be in six cities:
Vancouver, Edmonton, Winnipeg,
Ottawa, Montreal and Moncton.

Best women’s teams
From April 2013 to December 2014,
128 countries competed.
The top 24 countries will play this summer.

World Cup Facts
  • Canada’s women’s team
    is ranked #8 in the world.
  • Canada’s men’s team
    is ranked #114 in the world.
  • The best women’s team:  Germany
  • The best men’s team:  Germany
  • The first Women’s World Cup:  1991
  • The first Men’s World Cup:  1930

FIFA – The Fédération Internationale de Football Association